top of page

‘Cuse Set to Host 2021 Hall of Fame Alumni Weekend

SYRACUSE, NY -- The Syracuse Men’s Hockey program is set to host their third annual Hall of Fame Alumni weekend on November 6th & 7th. The weekend will kick off on Saturday, November 6th when Syracuse takes on the University of Rhode Island at 3:30pm at the Tennity Ice Pavilion. Prior to the start of the Saturday’s contest Syracuse will recognize Hall of Fame inductees with an on-ice banner presentation and ceremonial puck drop. The festivities will continue following Saturday’s matinee with an awards presentation and induction ceremony at 6:30pm at Skybarn.

On Sunday morning, Syracuse will welcome back former members of the program for an Alumni Game at 10:00am. Syracuse will wrap up the busy weekend at Tennity with a second meeting against URI later that afternoon at 2:00pm.

The Syracuse Men’s Hockey Hall of Fame was established in 2019 to recognize those who not only were responsible for bringing Men’s hockey to SU but also those who continued to grow the organization from a pickup team in 1959 to a team that contends on a national stage in the American Collegiate Hockey Association today. Since 2019 - the year that the program celebrated its 60th anniversary - the Hall of Fame has inducted seventeen individuals and five teams for their achievements and contributions to SU Men’s Hockey over the last 6 decades. This year the HOF will induct 8 more individuals along with the 1989-1990 ECHL Championship team. Brian Fitzgerald (‘62), David Kahn (‘63), Michael McTigue (‘79), James Veale (‘83), Erick Krug (‘91), Lance Davis (‘94), Wes Rene (‘13), and Nino DiPasquale (‘16) are all set to be inducted on Saturday evening.

Each year, the Hall of Fame also presents the Van Winkle Award to the Syracuse University Men’s Ice Hockey individual(s) who have demonstrated leadership on and off the ice, have made significant contributions to the development of the team, and the maintenance of the program's legacy. This year’s Van Winkle Award is going to two individuals for their collaborative and synchronized efforts - Lance & Amy Morris. Lance Davis (‘94) was a club officer during his sophomore season in 1991-1992 and was selected as the team’s captain and president from 1992-1994. Amy Morris (‘95) joined the Syracuse Men’s Hockey team in her freshman year in the fall of 1991 spending the next four years as the team’s manager working alongside the coaching staff and team officers to reorganize the team’s day-to-day operations. Together these two individuals had a profound and lasting impact on the program - guiding it through a time of crisis and restructuring the organization to earn the respect of its peers across the league while setting a new standard of professionalism that is line with how the team operates today.

The recognition of the Hall of Fame honorees and Van Winkle Award recipients is not just important to the individuals, their families, friends and former teammates, but it is a reminder to the current generation of players of the program’s rich history and that with enduring hard work the Syracuse University Men’s Hockey program will only continue to grow and be successful.

Those interested in attending Saturday evening’s ceremony at the Skybarn are required to register using this link: The cost of the event is $10.00 per person. Check out the full Hall of Fame Alumni Weekend schedule below.

Sat Nov 6: Syracuse vs. URI (Introduction of Hall of Fame honorees and banner presentation prior to start of game)

3:30pm / Tennity Ice Pavilion

Sat Nov 6: Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Reception

6:30pm / Skybarn / 151 Farm Acre Rd, Syracuse, NY 13210

Sun Nov 7: Syracuse Men’s Hockey Alumni Game

10:00am / Tennity Ice Pavilion

Sun Nov 7: Syracuse vs. URI

2:00pm / Tennity Ice Pavilion

82 views0 comments


bottom of page